Courses via scientists

March 14, 2007

Here is a Physics Today article titled Modern Classical Physics through the work of G I Taylor; via Alex Liberzon. I can also think of several more such courses — Materials mechanics through the work of Eshelby, Physical Metallurgy through the work of John Cahn, and of course, thermodynamics through the work of J W Gibbs. Interesting!

While we are on the topic of Taylor, take a look at this October 2004 issue of Resonance, which is a special issue on Taylor.

2 Responses to “Courses via scientists”


  1. Great post – I was completely unaware of this website and the nice memories of Taylor – it adds nicely to the rest of the things people can read about him.
    Thanks also to iMechanica that it’s actually delivers the information and we can exchange the knowledge, making it more publicly available.

    There are also some more things that could be linked from my (neighbour) blog at WordPress: http://alexl.wordpress.com

    If you don’t mind I’ll add your blog to my blogroll.

    Best,
    Alex

  2. Guru Says:

    Dear Alex,

    Thanks a lot for stopping by and your nice comments.

    I too am gung ho about iMechanica; long back, I read a very nice article by Robert Cahn about Frank called A fox with quills (pdf) in which Prof. Cahn talked about the central role that tea hours played in English universities in research and in sharing of ideas and information. iMechanica is one such “pantry on the net” where we all can meet and chat about things that we love and share things that we have discovered.

    I will be very happy to be on your blogroll; and, I have added your blog to my blogroll too!


Leave a Reply

